“Grown Up Christmas List” by Amy Grant

Do you remember me?
I sat upon your knee.
I wrote to you with childhood fantasies.
Well, I’m all grown up now,
But still need help somehow.
I’m not a child but my heart still can dream.

So here’s my lifelong wish,
My grown-up Christmas list,
Not for myself, but for a world in need:

No more lives torn apart,
Then wars would never start,
And time would heal all hearts.
And every one would have a friend,
And right would always win,
And love would never end
This is my grown-up Christmas list.

I have always enjoyed this song ever since I was a little girl and we would play Amy Grant’s Christmas album this time of year.  As I get older, I find it harder to tell people what I want for Christmas.  I have all I need and I don’t want much.  This year has been particularly hard to express what I want waiting for me under the tree.  As I listen to this song, I have been reflecting on what I would want that wasn’t material.  Seeing everything that has been happening, I would want more peace in the world, as well as in my own life.  I would want people to be able to learn to love each other, despite differences they may have.  I would want people less fortunate to be able to have the Christmas they deserve.  This song makes me wish that the world was a better place than it currently is.  But I also have hope that the world will be a better place some day.  We need to do our part to make this world a better place.  Take a break and listen to this song and think of what you would put on your “grown up ” Christmas list.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

