“The Upside of Down” by Chris August

The downside of being up is my inside is empty of
The one thing my heart truly needs
When I feel invincible a million miles from miserable
It’s always all about me

I don’t know why I don’t love You like I should, like You would
Through bad and good oh

Funny how we figure out where happiness is found
In the midst of this sadness I’m closer to You now
And that’s the upside of down, the upside of down
It’s all switched around, I lost and I found
The upside of down

I have heard this song so many times but I never picked up on the real meaning until today. This song says that even when we are going through hard times, something good always comes from it.  That something good is that we are closer to God.  We go to God in our time of need and ask Him for guidance and strength to get through the troubles we are facing.  How wonderful is that?  Knowing that “the upside of down” is that God will help us and that we will be even closer in our relationship with Him puts me at ease.  It’s often hard to see good coming from hard times, but if this is the good, it makes the hard times easier to handle.  Take a break today and send this song to someone who you know is having a hard time right now and wonders if good will come of it.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

