Philippians 4:6-8

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

This has always been a favorite verse of mine.  It shows us that as long as we pray an ask God for what we need, He will give us what we need, even if it’s not what we think we need at the time.  It also tells us to think about good things of the world.  The more often we think good thoughts, the better we will feel. Last night I went to reconciliation, and I received a penance I have never had to do before, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.  My penance was to go back to the chapel, sit down and close my eyes, and imagine Jesus was sitting in front of me having a conversation with me.  I was told to listen to what Jesus was telling me.  It was quite a powerful experience, and to be honest, it got a little emotional at times.  Being able to picture Jesus in front of me was a great way to make prayer more personal.  I encourage you to try that when you pray for something you really need.  Take a break today and think of something you’ve been wanting to ask God to help you with, take a few minutes and imagine Jesus there with you and tell him your prayers.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

