“Every Good Thing” By The Afters

I tend to be busier than I should be
And I tend to think that time is gonna wait for me
Sometimes I forget and take for granted
That it’s a beautiful life we live
I don’t wanna miss the moments like this
This is a beautiful life You give

You’re the reason for every good thing, every heartbeat
Every day we get to breathe
You’re the reason for anything that lasts, every second chance
Every laugh, life is so sweet
You’re the reason for every good thing, every good thing
Every good thing, every good thing…

I heard this song today and immediately started reflecting on my life.  Anyone that knows me knows I do a lot and always have a lot on my plate.  Sometimes I feel like I’m a chicken running around with its head cut off.  But that’s not out of the ordinary for most of us.  We always have things that need to get done, whether its homework, going to the store, meeting up with a friend, or anything else that takes time in our day.  Sometimes I think that 24 hours isn’t enough in one day.

This song is a great reminder that we need to take breaks and take time to notice the little things in life.  God made everything, from the stars in the sky to the toes on our feet, all the way down to the center of the earth.  If we are too busy to notice every good thing he has made, we lose that connection with God.  It’s easy to find God in nature, but only if one actually looks.  I love when I see God in nature.  I think of God as the master painter and the world around us as His masterpiece.  He paints the perfect picture, but all too often, people don’t take the time to notice.  Take a break today and take a walk.  Notice the world around you and “every good thing” there is.  Then come back and listen to this song and reflect on what you saw.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

