“Day One” by Matthew West

Well, I wish I had a short term memory
Wish the only thing my eyes could see
Was the future burning bright right in front of me
But I can’t stop looking back

Yeah, I wish I was a perfect picture of
Somebody who’s never not good enough
I try to measure up but I mess it up
And I wish I wasn’t like that

I wish I wasn’t wishing anymore
Wish I could remember that nobody’s keeping score
I’m tired of throwing pennies in a well
I gotta do something
Here goes nothin’

It’s day one of the rest of my life
It’s day one of the best of my life
I’m marching on to the beat of a brand new drum
Yeah, here I come
The future has begun
Day one

This is my new favorite song.  Matthew West has done it again.  I love what he has started doing when he writes songs.  He reads stories that people submit to him and turns them into songs with messages of hope, peace, forgiveness, and many other positive messages that come out of the stories he reads.  I recommend checking his other songs out.  This song is a perfect motivator to what I posted about yesterday.  The message of this song is that no matter what you have done in the past or no matter who you were before, today is “day one” to start over and become the person God wants you to be.  I thought it was perfect that Matthew debuted this song on New Year’s Day; how fitting.  People who are looking to start anew in their lives now have this song to turn to.  I know when I need some inspiration for working toward the person God wants me to be, I will listen to this song and remember that its never to late to start over.  Take a break and listen to this song and reflect on how it can impact your life.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

