“Breath of Heaven” by Amy Grant

Do you wonder as you watch my face
If a wiser one should have had my place?
But I offer all I am
For the mercy of Your plan
Help me be strong, help me be, help me

Breath of Heaven, hold me together
Be forever near me, Breath of Heaven
Breath of Heaven, lighten my darkness
Pour over me Your holiness for You are holy

This has been my favorite Christmas song since I could remember.  Lately, I’ve wondered what it must have been like to be in Mary’s place and hear that you will bear a son that will be the Savior of the World.  Recently, I watched the movie The Nativity Story; wonderful movie!  I saw it for the first time last year and I have to watch it for Theology class this semester.  It’s a beautiful adaptation of the birth of Jesus.  It really puts in perspective the time that Jesus was born and how young and innocent Mary was when she gave birth to Jesus.  I encourage you all to watch the movie, which can be found on youtube.  I also encourage you to take a break and listen to the entire song “Breath of Heaven” and think about what it would be like if you were Mary 2,000 years ago.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

